Threefold repetition of the same position?

 

A remarkable moment in the first round. Black to move and from the diagram position the following moves were played: …Rd6 34. Re7+ Re6 35. Ra7 Rd6 36. Re7+ Re6 37. Red7 Kf6 38. Ra7 Ke5

 

 

Here black claimed the draw on account of the threefold repetition of the position after Ke5.

And indeed, the position is exactly the same for the third time. Unfortunately for black, the difference is it is now white to move. So, no draw, two minutes added on the clock for white, and the game continues.

Erwin Denissen (aspiring International Arbiter)

Threefold repetition of the same position?