Threefold repetition of the same position?

 

A remarkable moment in the first round. Black to move and from the diagram position the following moves were played: …Rd6 34. Re7+ Re6 35. Ra7 Rd6 36. Re7+ Re6 37. Red7 Kf6 38. Ra7 Ke5

 

 

Here black claimed the draw on account of the threefold repetition of the position after Ke5.

And indeed, the position is exactly the same for the third time. Unfortunately for black, the difference is it is now white to move. So, no draw, two minutes added on the clock for white, and the game continues.

Erwin Denissen (aspiring International Arbiter)

Threefold repetition of the same position?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.