USCF Copyright Ignorance

On Wednesday, August 20, 2014, I posted “The Most Illegal Chess Move of All-Time.” (https://xpertchesslessons.wordpress.com/2014/08/20/the-most-illegal-move-of-all-time/)
After posting I began a new thread on the USCF forum in which I provided a link to the above mentioned post on this blog. About a day later I checked my stats on the blog, and was astounded to see how many people had clicked on the link provided by the USCF forum. I then went to the forum, finding no thread. Curious, I typed in my secret password and noticed there was a message for me. This is the message:
Re: The Most Illegal Move of All-Time
Sent at: Wed Aug 20, 2014 12:27 pm
From: mfschulte
To: nocab Moderators
Mr. Bacon,
The below post has been pulled. The blog to which you link contains an entry which is, for the most part, a reprint of content from an article hosted elsewhere. With such a large percentage of the post being text from an article subject to copyright, it is likely a violation of that copyright. The AUG specifically says “Do not post material that could constitute or encourage a violation of copyright or other law.”
If you can demonstrate that you had written permission to reproduce the content on your blog, I will be happy to restore the thread.
Thank you.
nocab wrote:New post:
https://xpertchesslessons.wordpress.com/ … -all-time/

“I never threw an illegal pitch. The trouble is, once in a while I toss one that ain’t never been seen by this generation.” – Satchel Paige

Mike Schulte
Kalamazoo, MI

I could not help but wonder why, if it had been censored, it had been left up long enough for so many people to have clicked on in order to read the post. Then it hit me, this person had been the one to inform me that my previous post, an answer to a fellow who goes by “Eastside” on the forum. His real name is Boyd Reed, another of the “badge men,” like Mr. Schulte. Maybe it had been left up until deputy Schulte entered the station…

I recalled that GM Kevin Spraggett had written something earlier about copyright on the internet, so I fired off an email:

Thursday, August 21, 2014 5:53 AM
Kevin,

USCF has pulled 2 posts and accused me of copyright violation with the last one, the post on “The Most Illegal Move of All-Time.” I posted a link on the USCF forum to the post and over 100 people clicked on the link! I ask you to read it, and, I recall you posting something awhile back on copying from the internet…Can you tell what day? Or at least what month, or even year…Did it make the transition to the new blog site? And I only copied a small part of the original article… I will respond to USCF, but not today, because today is special, and I had something else planned. Check it out!
https://xpertchesslessons.wordpress.com/2014/08/21/when-im-64/
Michael Bacon

The Grandmaster responded:

August 21, 2014 08:54

Hi Michael

I will take a look at your article. The USCF is full of shit, probably just wants to shut you up!

Kevin

ps. Here is the link to what I suppose you referred to vis a vis copyright (https://kevinspraggettonchess.wordpress.com/2012/08/31/twic-in-its-final-days/)

I sent a reply asking, “Can I quote you on that?!” Kevin replied:
Hi Michael

Of course you can quote me. Anything that is ”public” on the internet, that is, written, is fair game.

best regards

Kevin

ps. ”copyright-whores”; I am not sure if that is a new word or expression, but I LIKE it!

If you go to the article in question on the USCF website (http://www.uschess.org/content/view/8378/446/) you will see that the excerpt I used is only a small part of a much larger article, written by Elizabeth Vicary.

It was my birthday and I really did not want to spend my time on something like this, but…sheriff Schulte had written, “…it is likely a violation of that copyright.” I had to know what an professional would say. All of the attorneys for whom I had previously worked, or known, are either dead, or incapacitated. Fortunately there is the next generation. It took me most of the day, and with a little help from my friends, I was put in contact with an attorney who knows a thing or two about copyright law. He said, “This is laughable. It is obvious this man is ignorant of copyright law.”

Leave a Reply

