Magnus Carlsen has Swag

When I went to the website of the ongoing Oslo Chess International 2013 this morning (http://www.bergensjakk.no/oslointernational/) the first thing I noticed was a picture of world number one, Magnus Carlsen, wearing a pullover sweatshirt with the words, “SWAG DON’T COME CHEAP.” Being under the impression the word “swag” meant “sag” or “droop” I wondered if Magnus, being young, was wearing his pants in the fashion currently popular with a certain segment of society who let their pants droop and sag way too far down their derriere in order to show their often dirty underwear. This sent me to the dictionary where I learned it also means “sway,” or “lurch.” I also learned it is, “…perhaps of Scandinavian origin; akin to Norwegian svagga to sway, rock; akin to Middle Low German swacken to rock.” The first known use dates to 1530. http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/swag
I had a sneaking suspicion the word “swag” has taken on different connotations. I thought back to the time my little sister and I were talking with our mother when Lynnette mentioned something about one of our mother’s favorite actors being “gay.” Looking perplexed, our mother asked, “What’s wrong with being happy?” My sister looked at me as if to say, “Please help me here, brother.” I told our mother the word was now used to describe a homosexual. “My word,” she exclaimed, “Why would they do that?” I am now at about the same age as my mother when this occurred. There was no Urban dictionary then, but there is now, so I checked out the word on the site. This is the first definition I found:
Swag
The most used word in the whole fucking universe. Douche bags use it, your kids use it, your mail man uses it, and your fucking dog uses it. If you got swag, you generally wear those shitty hats side way, and your ass hanging out like a fucking goof cause your pants are half way down your white ass legs. To break down the word, it means (Secretly We Are Gay). It is also a word that means to represent yourself/ the way you represent yourself, baggy clothes, shitty hats, small penis and basically a way to say your afraid to come out of the closet.
There are many more pages of definitions you can find here. As for me, this one will suffice. http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=swag

Leave a Reply

